Recent Posts

Football CEO of the Year award finalists announced

Wednesday, 31 October 2018


The finalists for the fcbusiness CEO of the Year Award sponsored by tappit have been announced.

 The finalists for this year’s awards are: David Baldwin (Burnley FC), Alistair Mackintosh (Fulham FC), Erik Samuelson (AFC Wimbledon), Andy Holt (Accrington Stanley) and Ann Budge (Heart of Midlothian)

The CEO from each league has been nominated by a panel at fcbusiness for their leadership throughout the 2017/18 season and is now shortlisted for the overall CEO of the Year prize. Each winner will receive their award at a glitzy ceremony on 22nd November at City Centre at the HAC in London before the overall winner is announced on the night.

Football Business Awards organiser, Simon Burton, said: “Leadership is a vital component in stable football business. The shortlisted CEO’s don’t just embody strong commerce acumen, but a clear sense that football clubs are at the heart of the communities they serve. Those nominated are exceptional individuals who have received the acclaim of their peers.

Recognising the valuable contribution of the game’s executives in the UK has seen fcbusiness present the CEO of the Year Award each year since 2012, with winners including the likes of; Daniel Levy (Tottenham Hotspur) Ivan Gazidiz (Arsenal), Karren Brady (West Ham United), Mark Catlin, (Portsmouth) and Tony Scholes (Stoke City) to name a few.

fcbusiness Editor and Football Business Awards judge, Aaron Gourley, said: “Choosing the nominees for this award gets more difficult each year as clubs continue to grow and develop at an exceptional rate and the standards set in previous years are matched by those chosen for this year’s awards.

“The CEO of the Year is one of the most prized in football and through their hard work and dedication each of the nominees has led their respective clubs to achieve outstanding performances both on and off the pitch.

“The Football Business Awards are a fantastic way of recognising the efforts of everyone involved in the business side of the beautiful game and I’m sure, as each of our CEO’s would testify, they would not be in line for an award without them.”

Jason Thomas, CEO of tappit, this year’s award sponsor, commented: “We’re proud to support the Football Business Awards this year by sponsoring the coveted CEO of the Year award. As a team of passionate football fans ourselves, we are committed to working with clubs who are passionate about gaining fan insight, increasing profits and ultimately improving the fan experience. We look forward to honouring those recognised as the most impressive leaders in football.”

Over 500 senior managers and decision makers from the football industry will attend the black tie event in the heart of London, making the awards the perfect networking opportunity in the football calendar.

Table sales are open for those interested in attending the event. For more information on individual places or group bookings, please visit
CEO of the Year Finalists:

Premier League CEO of the Year – David Baldwin, Burnley FC

Championship CEO of the Year – Alistair Mackintosh, Fulham FC

League One CEO of the Year – Erik Samuelson, AFC Wimbledon

League Two CEO of the Year – Andy Holt, Accrington Stanley FC

SPFL CEO of the Year – Ann Budge, Heart of Midlothian FC

fcbusiness CEO of the Year Award (Overall) – To Be Announced on the Night

To see the full awards shortlist, please visit:

Leave your comment.

No comments: