Recent Posts

Ten awards honorees emerge for JCI 2018 TOYP Awards

Monday, 4 June 2018

Junior Chamber International (JCI) Nigeria, has announced the names of the 10 young personalities who have emerged award honorees of the 2018 edition of the annual JCI Ten Outstanding Young Persons (JCI TOYP) of Nigeria Awards.

JCI Nigeria disclosed this in a statement issued on Monday, May 28, 2018 stating that the date for the awards ceremony has been fixed for August 25, 2018.

The ten honorees were selected from the different categories of the awards programme that include; Personal Improvement and Accomplishment, Academic Leadership and Accomplishments, Medical Innovations, Scientific and Technological Development, among others.

Notable among the list of honorees are Oluseun Onigbinde, co-founder of BudgIT - a civil start-up that has brought more openness and transparency in governance and Kechi Okwuchi,one of the two survivors of the popular Sosoliso plane crash, who went on to earn a first class degree in the University of Thomas Houston, Texas. Others include Stanley Arinze, Omowunmi Ogunrotimi, Dr. Charles Immanuel Akhimien, Caleb Adebayo, Nasir Yammama Reginald Aziza, Jacinta Uramah and John Oluwadero.

While Oluseun Onigbinde emerged top in the Political, Legal and Government Affairs category of the awards programme, Kechi Okwuchi won in the personal improvement and accomplishment category.

This announcement comes months after a rigorous and thorough process. According to the chairperson for the award initiative, Oluwatoyin Atanda, the eventual process leading to the choice of the finalists can best be described as a thorough one stating that the quality and pedigree of the honorees bears testimony to the awards initiative.

Atanda added“the ten finalists that were shortlisted meet all requirements stipulated and are well deserving of the prestigious awards.”

Atanda then congratulated the honorees ahead of the awards ceremony stating that the recognition comes as a result of their breathtaking innovations, success and leadership skills in their different fields of endeavour.

The statement also announces the list of award judges whose selection activities determined the eventual honorees who have been named.

These judges include Founder/Director, Red Star Express Plc, Mr. Isaac Orolugbagbe; Founder, Growing Business Foundation, Mrs. Ndidi Edozien; Managing Director, PZ Cusson Plc, Alexander Goma; 2018 JCI President, Adeniyi Balogun; Head of Department, Chemical Engineering, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Prof. Muktar Abdulkadir; Executive Director, Fate Foundation, Mrs. Adenike Adeyemi; and Prince Lekan Fadina.

It will be recalled thatthe award process began with nominations by members of the general public, followed by various stages of screening, selection and voting during which the long list of nomineeswere narrowed down and then this final 10selected.

The JCI Ten Outstanding Young Persons (JCI TOYP) Programme is a Junior Chamber International initiative to formally recognize young people who excel in their chosen fields and create positive change.

Past recipients of the JCI Nigeria TOYP awards include personalities like Dr. Ola Orekunrin, Ray Ekpu, Sir Shina Peters, Kanu Nwankwo, Femi Anikulapo-Kuti, Daddy Showkey, Richard Mofe Damijo, Gbenga Sesan, Linda Ikeji, Japheth Omojuwa, and legends such as the late Bimbo Odukoya, MEE Mofe-Damijo and Amaka Igwe.

Leave your comment.

No comments: