Recent Posts

FIFA awards W/Cup 2026 to USA, Mexico, Canada joint-bid

Wednesday, 13 June 2018

The United 2026 bid, fronted by the USA, Canada and Mexico, has won the bid to become the hosts for the World Cup 2026, beating Morocco at the 68th annual Fifa congress on the eve of the 2018 tournament in Russia.

The winning bid won by 69 votes meaning the World Cup will be hosted in North America for the first time since the USA hosted it in 1994. It will be the third time the tournament has been hosted in Mexico, and the first time it will be staged in Canada.

The voting in total was 134 for United 2026, 65 for Morocco and one for none of the bids. The result means it will be only the second time in history that a joint bid has won the voting process, after Japan and South Korea in 2002.

It was more disappointment for Morocco however - bidding to become only the second African nation to ever host the tournament after South Africa in 2010 - as they lost their fifth World Cup bid.


Leave your comment. 

No comments: