Recent Posts

Argungu Boys victorious in Sanusi Annual Super League

Thursday, 28 December 2017

Dr. Sanusi (second from right) with other dignitaries at the finale in Birnin Kebbi Township Stadium on Wednesday


There was much glamour and panache as Argungu United FC of Argungu edged New Stars FC of Kebbi 3-2 in the grand finale of the annual Mohammed Sanusi Kebbi State Annual Super League held in Birnin Kebbi on Wednesday.

Sponsored by Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, the General Secretary of Nigeria Football Federation, the competition has been going strong for five years now, and welcomes football clubs from all over Kebbi State. A total of 15 teams were involved in the just –ended competition.

Inabo United FC finished in third place. All three top –placed teams received trophies, medals and cash prizes, with Argungu United N100,000 richer; New Stars N70,000 richer and; Inabo FC going home with N50,000.

Most Valuable Player award went to Suleiman Aliyu Babban of New Stars; Hassan Abdullahi of Gwandu United won the Top Scorer award with five goals and Ba-dariya FC won the Fairplay award. Each award winner got N50,000 each. The cash prizes were donated by friends of Dr. Sanusi.

The Deputy Governor of Kebbi State, Colonel Samaila Yobe Dabai (Rtd) represented the State Governor, Senator Abubakar Atiku Bagudu. Other dignitaries who witnessed the finale at the Birnin Kebbi Township Stadium were Alh. Abdullahi Umar (Wazirin Gwandu, royal father of the day); Alh. Garba Husseini Mungadi (Permanent Secretary, Kebbi State Ministry of Youth and Sports); Alh. Abubakar Udu Idris, MNI (Head of Service, Kebbi State); Alh. Abubakar Ladan (Chairman, Kebbi State FA and former NFF Board Member); Alh. Ibrahim Musa Gusau (Chairman, Zamfara State FA and Member, NFF Executive Committee); Alh. Sharif Rabiu Inuwa (Chairman, Kano State FA and Member, NFF Executive Committee); Dr. Haliru Bala (Federal Commissioner, National Population Commission); Mohammed Lawal Na Allah (Director of Finance, Birnin Kebbi Local Government); Mr. A. B. Yabagi (Vice Chairman, Niger State FA); Alh. Aliyu Oroje; Alh. Yakubu Rilisco; Alh. Ali Sani; Alh. Mohammed Manzo; Alh. Gandi Bala Bodinga and; former Nigerian internationals Abdulrafiu Yusuf (NFF’s AD Technical) and Peter Rufai.  

Leave your comment.

No comments: