Tertiary sports bodies set up two committees


In a major drive to reposition the state of sports development in the nation’s tertiary institutions and the country at large, three tertiary –based sports bodies have formed two committees with the objectives of putting collegiate sports back on the front burner.

The sports bodies are Nigeria Universities Games Association (NUGA), Nigeria Polytechnics Games Association (NIPOGA) and the Nigeria Colleges of Education Games Association (NICEGA).

According to a release by Bola Orodele, who is secretary of the Nigeria Universities Games Association (NUGA) and also secretary of one of the committees, the two committees are Steering Committee and Constitution Drafting Committee.

NUGA President, Professor Stephen Hamafyelto and NICEGA President, Dr. Sanusi Mohammed (who is also General Secretary of Nigeria Football Federation) will serve as advisers to the two committees.

Steering Committee: Mr. J. A. Onijala (Chairman); Mr. Yakubu Opene (Vice-Chairman); Mr. S. A. Akinbode (Member); Mr. Abdullahi Abubakar (Member); Mr. Emeka Ogbu (Member); Mr. Bola Orodele (Secretary); Dr. Saba Idris (Asst. Secretary)

Constitution Drafting Committee: Prof. Barr. Oye Adewoye (Chairman); Ven. Matthew A. Odesanmi (Vice-Chairman); Prof. Musa G. Yakasai (Member); Rev. Dr. A. A. Ayodele (Member); Mr. Ali Sani Umar (Secretary)

Advisers: Prof. Stephen Hamafyelto (NUGA President); Dr. Sanusi Mohammed (NICEGA President)

Leave your comment.
Share on Google Plus
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment