Recent Posts

NFF constitutes new boards of Leagues

Monday, 14 November 2016


The Nigeria Football Federation has received the report of the Selection Committee for the Boards of the Leagues, through the Ad-hoc Governing Committees that have been managing the various Leagues.

After receiving the report on Monday, the NFF gave its ‘no objection’ to the composition of the new Boards.

As contained in the submission of the Selection Committee, the new Boards are composed thus:

NIGERIA NATIONAL LEAGUE: Chidi Ofor Okenwa (Independent Chairman); Magaji Abdulkadir Kapaka (Independent Vice Chairman); Sunday Longbap (Independent Director); Oladimeji Ladi Thompson (Director); Dodo Isah (Director); Farouk Yarma (Director); Tunji Onatolu (Director); Ifeanyi Onyibe (Director); Amos Nworie (Director); Bukola Olopade (CEO).

NIGERIA WOMEN FOOTBALL LEAGUE: Aisha Falode (Independent Chairman); Dilichukwu Onyedinma (Independent Vice Chairman); Joe Amene (Independent Director); Kemi Adesanya (Director); Matilda Otuene (Director); Henrietta Ukaigwe (Director); Hussaina Suleiman (Director); Mustapha Tahir (Director); Usman Mustapha (Director); Nkechi Obi (CEO).

NIGERIA NATIONWIDE LEAGUE ONE: Mohammed Alkali (Independent Chairman); Ganiyu Majekodunmi (Independent Vice Chairman); Sabo Abdullahi Dutse (Independent Director); Ebere Amaraizu (Director); Aliyu Kassim (Director); Tanko Maiyaki (Director); Murtala Sambo (Director); Kabiru Adekunle (Director); Bernard Joma (Director); Ahmad Muazu Kawu (CEO).

The new Boards were constituted following a decision of the 71st NFF Annual General Assembly that took place in Abuja on 16th December 2015. They will operate for a period of two years, ending on 29th September 2018, in line with the governance structure approved by the Congresses of the various Leagues. learnt that the Boards were reconstituted to make them more independent and more virile, and towards more robust and aggressive marketing.

The entire process leading to the composition of the new Boards conforms to Article 17(2) of the FIFA Statutes, and Article 78(2&3) of the NFF Statutes.

Article 17(2) of FIFA Statutes: A Member’s bodies shall be either elected or appointed in that Association. A Member’s Statutes shall provide for a procedure that guarantees the complete independence of the election or appointment.

Article 78(2&3) of NFF Statutes: 2) The Executive Committee may delegate to NFF’s subordinate Leagues the authority to organize competitions. The competitions organized by the Leagues shall not interfere with those competitions organized by NFF. Competitions organized by NFF shall take priority; 3) The Executive Committee may issue special regulations to this end.
Leave your comment.

No comments: