Young researchers win awards at nanotechnology conference

Blessing Ezealigo (in blue) won award as young researchers 

By Patrick Egwu in Enugu

Young researchers and scientists have won different awards at the just concluded 2nd International African Conference on Nanotechnology held at the Princess Alexandria Auditorium of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

During the Poster presentation by participants and lecturers at the conference, various awards and cash prizes were given to some of the poster presenters by the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), Switzerland and the Singaporean Materials Research Society (MRS) for their works on the posters exhibited.

Miss Blessing Ezealigo, a Post Graduate student from the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, won the first position for her works on “Structural, optical and electrochemical properties of nanorod CuSCN thin films deposited by successive ionic layers absorption and reactions (SILAR) methods” courtesy of the Materials Research Society of Singapore (MRS).
She also won the second position for the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), Switzerland, award for her work on “Electrochemical capacitive properties of triangular-like nanostructured copper iodide thin films deposited by SILAR method.”

Similarly, Christian Nwosu, a researcher from the Department of Physics/Geology/Geophysics, Faculty of Science, Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ikwo, Ebonyi State, won the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), Switzerland, award for Best Presentation for a work co-written with Professor Michael Ukonu, a renowned Professor of Physics and current Dean of Science, FUNAI. The paper is entitled “Fabrication of reflectors via vapour deposition of nanoscale thin film of silver and copper for concentrated solar thermal power applications.”

Another researcher, Mr. Okagu Desmond from the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, won the first prize position for Best Poster presentation.

Others who won awards at both the ISE and MRS categories include; Nwanya Chinwe, Ezema C.G, Ighodalo et al; Mgabdike et al; Odo et al;Awua et al; and Anyaezue et al for their works in different aspects of nanotechnology.

While presenting the awards, the Executive-Member and representative of the President of ISE, Professor Kenneth Ozoemena, congratulated the awardees and urged them to continue working harder in the field of research and nanotechnology, adding that more awards will be instituted at the next conference.

He stated that the essence of the award was to showcase good works on nanotechnology and encourage others to carry out research on nanotechnology.

He further revealed on-going plans to institute a regional chapter of ISE in Nigeria, stating that it will help in getting more sponsors and funds for the conference and other activities of nanotechnology in Nigeria and Africa at large. He called on the participants to join the society (ISE) when established.
Leave your comment.

Share on Google Plus
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment